Graphic with book icon - Press

Oprah, Barack Obama Among Honorary Chairs for African American Museum’s ‘Living History’ Campaign

The Smithsonian’s National Museum of African History and Culture announced that President George W. Bush, Laura Bush, President Barack Obama, Michelle Obama, museum council chairman and ex-CEO of American Express Ken Chenault, television series writer Shonda Rhimes and Oprah Winfrey will serve as the honorary chairs of its $350 million Living History Campaign. The goal of the campaign, which is part of the Smithsonian Campaign for Our Shared Future, is to increase the museum’s endowment and support its digital narratives and programs. The program will conclude in 2024.